Federation of wrestling
Smolensk region

World championship: Russians have only one "gold"
02 July, 2018

On the eve of the carpet came athletes in categories up to 48, 55, 65, 80 and 110 kg. The best in the Russian team on this day was Dmitry Elkanov (80 kg), who won all three of his fight ahead of schedule. On Tuesday, the Ossetian youth continued his winning streak, having defeated Mohammedraz Giyasi in the finals with the score - 6: 6.

Inalbek Sheriev (65 kg) was close to a gold medal. A wolf from Kabardino-Balkaria at the preliminary stage surpassed three rivals, but in the battle for the first place he could not break the resistance of Azerbaijanian Turan Bayramov - 1: 4.

The current winner of the European Championship Sergei Kozyrev (110 kg) was considered the main favorite in the heavyweight contests, but in the semifinal he unexpectedly lost to American Daniel Kerkvliet (2: 2) and was satisfied with the bronze medal. Prior to this, a wrestler from Alanya, who, incidentally, will represent Russia in the fall at the Youth Olympic Games in Argentina, won early victories in three matches.

Also bronze award in the treasury of the national team brought the Yakut lightweight Valery Androsov (48 kg).

Significantly worse Russian youths who participated today in preliminary bouts - none of the five wrestlers failed to avoid defeat.

Only three of them retain the chances for bronze medals: Shamil Mammadov (60 kg), Mahmud Magomedov (71 kg) and Alik Dzhigkaev (92 kg).

In the attack Sergei Kozyrev (weight category up to 110 kg)

Technical results
World championship among boys. Croatia, Zagreb, July 3

48 kg
1. Alikhasan Amirli (Azerbaijan)
2. Richard Figueroa (USA)
3. George Gegelashvili (Georgia)
3. Valery Androsov (Russia)

55 kg
1. Jamshidbek Mafurov (Uzbekistan)
2. Hayato Fujida (Japan)
3. Simon Piraddou (Italy)
3. Abulfaz Nasirov (Azerbaijan)

65 kg
1. Turan Bayramov (Azerbaijan)
2. Inalbek Sheriev (Russia)
3. Mohammad Karimi (Iran)
3. Bekzat Zhalgassov (Kazakhstan)

80 kg
1. Dmitry Elkanov (Russia)
2. Mohamadrez Giyashi (Iran)
3. Milan Korshog (Hungary)
3. Abe Edward Assad (USA)

110 kg
1. Amir Hossein Zare (Iran)
2. Daniel Kirkwright (USA)
3. Sergey Kozyrev (Russia)
3. Stoyan Yordanov (Bulgaria)